top of page

$15 TICKETS  ($12 for members)

Sat. April 16th, 2022 @ 4:45PM

Venue: Austin Film Society
6259 Middle Fiskville Rd, Austin, TX

Southwest Premiere

NOTE: This film is playing only in theaters. 

A candid, visually sumptuous five-year recording"

SUNDANCE '22 - Special Jury Prize for Verite Filmmaking

Hla is the Buddhist owner of a makeshift medical clinic in Myanmar, while Nyo Nyo, her young apprentice, belongs to the persecuted Rohingya Muslim community.  Encouraged and challenged by Hla, who risks her own safety  helping Muslim patients, Nyo Nyo is determined to become a steady health care provider for her community. 


Snow Hnin Ei Hlaing’s remarkable feature debut was filmed over five turbulent years in a country that's long been exoticized and misunderstood. The filmmaker’s gentle gaze grants unique access to these courageous women. Filled with love, empathy, and hope, Midwives offers rare insight into the complex reality of Myanmar and its people. 

"An intimate ode to women and the strength of sisterhood 

POV Magazine

Midwives 2.jpeg


Myanmar  I 91 mins I Documentary I 2022

Burmese, Rakhine w/ English subtitles

About the Artist

Producer Director Editor - Snow Hnin Ei Hlaing.jpg

Snow has worked as a freelance filmmaker in Myanmar since 2006, acting as director, producer, editor and sound recordist after attending film Schools in both Myanmar and Germany.


Her short, BURMESE BUTTERFLY played festivals in over 20 countries, and PERIOD@PERIOD won for best short at the Wathan Film Festival. MIDWIVES is her feature documentary debut.

Midwives - Still 1_v3.jpg


Thank you to our community partners for this screening! 




Director:                   'Snow" Hnin Ei Hlaing                           

Producer(s):              Bob Moore

                                    Ulla Lehmann

                                    Mila Aung-Thwin

                                    Snow Hnin Ei Hlaing


Exec Producer(s):      Erika Dilday

                                   Justine Nagan

                                   Chris White

                                   Ken Pelletier

                                   Shizuka Asakawa

                                   Daniel Cross

                                   Andrea Roggon

                                   Vijay Vaidyanathan



Nyo Nyo 

Kyaw Kyaw

Kyaw Tin 


Crew Cont'd

Cinematographer:      Soe Kyaw Htin Tun

Editors:                        Mila Aung-Thwin

                                     Ryan Mullins

                                     Snow Hnin Ei Hlaing

Original Music:           Olivier Alary

                                    Johannes Malfatti

bottom of page